U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
Other State Department Archive SitesU.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
Home Issues & Press Travel & Business Countries Youth & Education Careers About State Video
Bureau of International Organization Affairs
U.S. National Commission for UNESCO


U.S. National Commission for UNESCO

The National Commission will be comprised of up to 100 members appointed by the Secretary of State. There can be up to 60 representatives of non-governmental organizations (NGOs), 10 United States Government officials, 15 representatives of the interests of state and local governments, and up to 15 individuals at large.

  1. American Enterprise Institute (Danielle Pletka)
  2. National Academy of Engineering (Lance A. Davis)
  3. Theater Communications Group (Emilya Cachapero)
  4. United Nations Foundation Better World Campaign (Melinda Kimble)
  5. Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (Susan Avery)

Federal Members

  1. Dr. Arden Bement, Director, National Science Foundation
  2. Dr. James Billington, Librarian of Congress
  3. Dr. Bruce Cole, Chairman, National Endowment for Humanities
  4. Mrs. Robin Gilchrist, Deputy Chief of Staff, U.S. Department of Education 
  5. Mr. Dana Gioia, Chairman, National Endowment for the Arts
  6. Dr. John Marburger, Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy
  7. Ms. Adair Margo, Chairman, President's Committee on the Arts and the Humanities
  8. Mr. John Nau, Chairman, Council on Historic Preservation 
  9. Ms. Anne-Imelda Radice, Director, Institute of Museum and Library Services

State/Local Government Members

  1. Ms. Christie Brandau, State Librarian, State of Kansas
  2. Mr. Michael Casserly, Executive Director,Council for Great City Schools
  3. Representative Robert Wayne Cooper, M.D., State Representative, State of Missouri
  4. Mr. Tim Foster, President, Mesa State College
  5. Dr. Jonathan Katz, Executive Director, National Assembly of State Art Agencies
  6. Dr. Robert S. Martin, Senior Advisor, Texas State Historical Records Advisory Board  
  7. Dr. Ricardo Romo, President, University of Texas, San Antonio
  8. Dr. Joseph Torgesen, Director, Center for the Study of Reading and Reading Disabilities, Florida State University
  9. Ms. LaJuana S. Wilcher, Board Member, Kentuckiana Girl Scouts

At-Large Members

  1. Dr. Tyler Cowen, Fairfax, Virginia
  2. Ms. Myrna J. Deckert, El Paso, Texas
  3. Dr. John J. DeGioia, Washington, DC
  4. Mrs. Karyn Frist, Nashville, Tennessee
  5. Ms. Susan Graham, New York, New York
  6. Mr. Ron Haskins, Washington, DC
  7. General Henry Hatch (ret.), Oakton, Virginia
  8. Ms. Jacquelyn K. Hawkins, Austin, Texas
  9. Mr. Frank Hodsoll, Falls Church, Virginia
  10. Dr. Tirso del Junco, Glendale, California
  11. Dr. Richard Kurin, Falls Church, Virginia
  12. Ms. Kathy Mellor, North Kingstown, Rhode Island
  13. Mr. Patrick Swygert, Washington, DC
  14. Dr. Diana Wall, Fort Collins, Colorado

NGO Members: Organization (Representative)

U.S. Department of State
USA.govU.S. Department of StateWhat's New  |   Frequent Questions  |   Contact Us  |   Email this Page  |   Subject Index  |   Search
The Office of Electronic Information, Bureau of Public Affairs, manages this site as a portal for information from the U.S. State Department. External links to other Internet sites should not be construed as an endorsement of the views or privacy policies contained therein.
About state.gov  |   Privacy Notice  |   FOIA  |   Copyright Information  |   Other U.S. Government Information