U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
Other State Department Archive SitesU.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
Home Issues & Press Travel & Business Countries Youth & Education Careers About State Video
 You are in: Under Secretary for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs > Bureau of Public Affairs > Bureau of Public Affairs: Press Relations Office > Press Releases (Other) > 2003 > July
Notice to the Press
Office of the Spokesman
Washington, DC
July 29, 2003

U.S. Hosts International Earth Observation Summit

Secretary of State Colin L. Powell, Secretary of Energy Spencer Abraham, and Secretary of Commerce Donald L. Evans will address the opening segment of the Earth Observation Summit on Thursday, July 31, 2003. The Summit will take place at the Department of State and will involve senior U.S. officials and representatives from more than 30 nations and 20 international organizations.

The objective of the Earth Observation Summit is to establish plans for a comprehensive international Earth observation system that will provide the tools needed to substantially improve the ability to address global environmental, economic and societal challenges. Further information on the Summit and a complete program of speakers are available at: www.earthobservationsummit.gov.

Portions of the Earth Observation Summit are open for press coverage, as follows:

The morning session of the Summit, with opening remarks by Secretary Powell and which takes place in the Loy Henderson Conference Room, is open for press coverage from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Remarks by National Aeronautics and Space Administration Administrator Sean O’Keefe and a videotape screening will be open for press coverage from 2:30 - 2:50 p.m.
Pre-set for cameras:           8:00 a.m. (from 23rd Street entrance)
Final access for all press:   8:45 a.m.

A press briefing with senior administration officials is scheduled in the Dean Acheson Auditorium during the morning break from 10:05 to 10:35 a.m.
Pre-set for cameras:            9:15 a.m. (from 23rd Street entrance)
Final access for all press:    9:45 a.m.

Media representatives may cover these events upon presentation of one of the following: (1) a U.S. Government-issued identification card (Department of State, White House, Congress, Department of Defense, or Foreign Press Center); (2) a photo ID issued by the employing media organization; or (3) a letter on official letterhead from employing organization verifying employment as a journalist, accompanied by an official photo ID (valid driver’s license or passport). Media representatives must arrive at the 23rd entrance of the Department.

Press Contacts:
Susan Povenmire, U.S. Department of State, 202-647-3486
Department of State Office of Press Relations, 202-647-2492
Robert Hopkins, U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, 202-482-4640
David Steitz, U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration, 202-358-1730

  Back to top

U.S. Department of State
USA.govU.S. Department of StateUpdates  |   Frequent Questions  |   Contact Us  |   Email this Page  |   Subject Index  |   Search
The Office of Electronic Information, Bureau of Public Affairs, manages this site as a portal for information from the U.S. State Department. External links to other Internet sites should not be construed as an endorsement of the views or privacy policies contained therein.
About state.gov  |   Privacy Notice  |   FOIA  |   Copyright Information  |   Other U.S. Government Information

Published by the U.S. Department of State Website at http://www.state.gov maintained by the Bureau of Public Affairs.