U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
Other State Department Archive SitesU.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
Home Issues & Press Travel & Business Countries Youth & Education Careers About State Video
 You are in: Under Secretary for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs > Bureau of Public Affairs > Bureau of Public Affairs: Press Relations Office > Press Releases (Other) > 2006 > November
Notice to the Press
Office of the Spokesman
Washington, DC
November 28, 2006

Director General Staples to Present Secretary of State’s 2006 Awards for Outstanding Volunteerism Abroad

Director General George M. Staples will present the 2006 Associates of the American Foreign Service Worldwide Secretary of State's Award for Outstanding Volunteerism Abroad (SOSA) to five winners in different geographic regions at a special ceremony on Tuesday, December 5 at 10:30 a.m. in the Benjamin Franklin Diplomatic Reception Room at the Department of State.

The Awards recognize U.S. Government employees and family members at embassies and consulates who gave exceptional volunteer service to their communities, host country or expatriates, or rendered outstanding assistance in emergencies. This year's Award winners include:

Nelda Villines - Mbabane, Swaziland (AF)
Kathy Hansen - Seoul, Korea (EAP)
Thomas Yazdgerdi - Athens, Greece (EUR)
Steven Carroll - Kabul Afghanistan (NEA/SCA)
Marian McGowan - Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic (WHA)

A brief synopsis of the volunteer activity that earned each winner her/his award can be found at: http://www.aafsw.org/aafsw/awards/2006awards.htm

The award ceremony is open for press coverage. Members of the press who do not have a State Department building pass should arrive at the 23rd Street entrance for clearance through security and access to the Benjamin Franklin Room.

Pre-set time for cameras: 9:30 a.m.
Final access time for all press: 10:15 a.m.

Media representatives may attend this award ceremony upon presentation of one of the following: (1) a U.S. Government-issued identification card (Department of State, White House, Congress, Department of Defense, or Foreign Press Center), (2) a media-issued photo identification card, or (3) a letter from their employer on letterhead verifying their employment as a journalist, accompanied by an official photo identification (driver's license or passport).

Members of the press who wish to attend the award ceremony should contact Brenda Greenberg at (202) 647-4282.


Released on November 28, 2006

  Back to top

U.S. Department of State
USA.govU.S. Department of StateUpdates  |   Frequent Questions  |   Contact Us  |   Email this Page  |   Subject Index  |   Search
The Office of Electronic Information, Bureau of Public Affairs, manages this site as a portal for information from the U.S. State Department. External links to other Internet sites should not be construed as an endorsement of the views or privacy policies contained therein.
About state.gov  |   Privacy Notice  |   FOIA  |   Copyright Information  |   Other U.S. Government Information

Published by the U.S. Department of State Website at http://www.state.gov maintained by the Bureau of Public Affairs.